The Township of Tyendinaga is located in the most southeasterly corner of Hastings County and approximately 10 km east of the City of Belleville. Tyendinaga Township is a growing community with a population of approximately 4,200 and an area of 73,000 acres. With a rich history and impressive community spirit Tyendinaga Township truly embodies their motto “Rural Living At Its Best”.
Along with the Salmon River, several parallel streams with their tributaries run the whole width of the Township. Also, the Moira River crosses the northwest corner of the Township. Nestled throughout the picturesque countryside and hamlets such as Lonsdale, Marysville, Roslin, Blessington, Read, Milltown and Shannonville, which portray the quiet rural-residential atmosphere that the Township offers. Also located throughout the Township, visitors will find numerous antiques, crafts, and pottery shops.
Although primarily agricultural in nature, the Township, with its many rivers and streams and abundance of forest lands, is a most attractive location for sport fishermen and outdoors people.
Tyendinaga Township is home to many small hamlets including those listed below. Any additional history, pictures, articles, etc. on these hamlets can be directed to Annie at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Albert hamlet history coming soon
Blessington hamlet according to a booklet compiled on Blessington School and area in 1967, had previously been considered “Salem”, and “Cole’s Corners” previous to that and was located at what is now the Harmony Road/Shannonville Road corner.
There was a Blacksmith Shop on an eight acre parcel of land. In 1888, Charles Ridley Cole purchased the land for 500 pounds. Jack Farrell apprenticed at the blacksmith beginning in 1914, and purchased the shop in 1919. Jack Farrell’s home was on the South East corner across from the blacksmith shop on the North West corner. In 1967, the time the article was written, a mail slot on the front of the home could still be seen. This is because Jack Farrell’s home had been the Post Office in 1856, operated by John Hayes. The Post Office closed in 1883, but reopened again in 1886 when Henry Core bought the Blacksmith shop and home. The community during this era was called “Coles Corners”. From 1903 until its closing in 1915, it was operated by Frank Corrigan.
Chisholms Mills hamlet history coming soon
Ebenezer hamlet history coming soon
Halston hamlet history coming soon
Kingsford hamlet history coming soon
Lonsdale hamlet history coming soon
Lonsdale Station hamlet history coming soon
Melrose hamlet history coming soon
Marysville hamlet history coming soon
Milltown hamlet history coming soon
Myrehall hamlet history coming soon
Naphan hamlet history coming soon
Read hamlet history coming soon
Shannonville hamlet history coming soon